About College:

Dr. Ambedkar Government Law College , the 128 years prestigious institution was founded by the British in the year 1891 , with the speciality of its location had been in the High Court Campus. This institution had the privilege of being the 2nd oldest college in the country and the first law college started in south India. Originally named ‘Madras Law College’, later got renamed in the year 1991 as ‘Dr. Ambedkar Government Law College’ in commemoration of Birth Centenary of Dr.B.R Ambedkar, the Father of Indian Constitution.

The college has the high prestigious record of having many illustrious students – Former President of India Thiru R.Venkataraman , Former Supreme Court Chief Justices Thiru Pathanchali Sastry ( 1951 – 54 ) , Thiru Koka Subba Rao ( 1958 – 1967 ) , Thiru P. Sadasivam ( 2013 ), Former supreme court judges Thiru V. R. Krishna Aiyar, Thiru P.Satyanarayana Raju , Thiru. V Balakrishna Eradi, Tmt.Banumathi , over 37 Supreme Court Lawyers and 1000 High Court judges including Thiru.M. Karpagavinayagam, Thiru. V. Periyakaruppiah, Thiru.P.D Dinakaran , Former central ministers including P. Chidambaram, State Chief Ministers including Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy, C. Sankaran Nair, a former President of the Indian National Congress and many government officials. read more

© Copyright - Dr.Ambedkar Government Law College, Pudupakkam